what is vegan

Are épaississants.' carraghénanes vegan?

Épaississants.' carraghénanes is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is épaississants.' carraghénanes?

Épaississants are food additives that help to thicken and stabilize food products. Carrageenans are a specific type of épaississant that are derived from red seaweed and have been used in traditional Irish cuisine for centuries. They are commonly used in a variety of food products, including dairy products, meat products, and beverages, as well as in pharmaceuticals and cosmetics. Carrageenans have unique properties that allow them to function as a gelling agent, emulsifier, and stabilizer, making them a versatile ingredient in the food industry. They are also known for their ability to enhance texture, improve mouthfeel, and increase shelf life.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like épaississants.' carraghénanes?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy