what is vegan

Are maltodextrines vegan?

Maltodextrines is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is maltodextrines?

Maltodextrins are a type of carbohydrate that are derived from corn, rice, or potato starch. They are often used as a food ingredient to improve texture, increase shelf life, and enhance flavor. Maltodextrins are a white powder with a mild, slightly sweet taste and are commonly used as a thickener or filler in processed foods such as baked goods, beverages, and snack foods. They are also used in sports drinks and energy gels to provide a quick source of energy. Maltodextrins have a high glycemic index, meaning they can cause a rapid increase in blood sugar levels. However, they are generally considered safe for consumption in moderation.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like maltodextrines?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy