what is vegan

Is added water vegan?

Added water is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is added water?

"Added water" refers to the practice of adding water to food products during processing, preparation, or packaging. This ingredient is often used to increase the volume or weight of a product, reduce its cost, or improve its texture, consistency, or shelf life. However, the addition of water may also dilute the nutritional value of the food and reduce its flavor and quality. While some food additives are regulated by the FDA, "added water" is not considered an additive, and its use is subject to the general principles of food safety and labeling requirements. Consumers should be aware of the presence and amount of added water in the products they purchase and consume.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like added water?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy