what is vegan

Is almidón modificado maíz vegan?

Almidón modificado maíz is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is almidón modificado maíz?

Almidón modificado maíz, also known as modified corn starch, is a common food ingredient used to improve texture, consistency, and stability in a wide variety of processed foods. It is derived from corn starch through a chemical process that alters its physical properties, such as increasing its resistance to heat and acid. This modification makes it an ideal thickening agent for soups, sauces, gravies, and puddings. It also acts as a binding agent in baked goods and helps to prevent ice crystal formation in frozen desserts. Modified corn starch is gluten-free and widely used in the food industry due to its versatility and low cost.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like almidón modificado maíz?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy