what is vegan

Is amidon de modifié vegan?

Amidon de modifié is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is amidon de modifié?

Amidon de modifié, also known as modified starch, is a common food ingredient that is derived from various plant sources such as corn, potato, tapioca, and wheat. This ingredient undergoes a chemical modification process that alters its physical and chemical properties, resulting in improved functionality such as increased thickening, stabilizing, and binding abilities. Modified starch is widely used in the food industry as a thickening agent for sauces, soups, gravies, and dressings, and as a binder in processed meats and bakery products. It is a versatile ingredient that can improve the texture, consistency, and shelf life of a variety of food products.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like amidon de modifié?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy