what is vegan

Is anice stellato vegan?

Anice stellato is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is anice stellato?

Anice stellato, also known as star anise, is a distinctive spice with a complex flavor profile. It is named after its star-shaped pod, which contains several seeds that are used for culinary purposes. With a licorice-like taste and a sweet, floral aroma, anice stellato is a popular ingredient in Asian cuisine, particularly in Chinese and Vietnamese dishes. Its unique flavor is often used to enhance the taste of meat, poultry, and fish dishes, as well as soups, broths, and teas. Additionally, anice stellato is believed to have medicinal properties, with its essential oils used in aromatherapy and traditional medicine for its anti-inflammatory and antibacterial properties.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like anice stellato?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy