what is vegan

Is artificial licorice flavor vegan?

Artificial licorice flavor is potentially vegan - it can be derived from plants or animals. You should ask the manufacturer for more details.

Checking out an ingredients list? ๐Ÿ‘‡

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

โ€” Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. ๐Ÿ˜"

โ€” Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

โ€” Dรณra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is artificial licorice flavor?

Artificial licorice flavor is a synthetic version of the distinct sweet and slightly bitter taste of licorice, a root commonly used in candy and other sweet treats. This flavor is created by combining various chemical compounds, such as anise oil, coumarin, and glycyrrhizin, to imitate the taste and aroma of natural licorice. It is often added to candies, gums, and other confectionery items to provide a bold and unique taste that many people enjoy. While some individuals may prefer the natural licorice flavor, artificial licorice flavor is a popular option for those who want to experience the taste without the intensity of the real thing.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like artificial licorice flavor?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] ๐Ÿ™Œ
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy