what is vegan

Is basilikum' vegan?

Basilikum' is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is basilikum'?

Basilikum, also known as basil, is a fragrant herb commonly used in Mediterranean and Asian cuisine. It is recognized for its distinctive aroma and flavor, which is a combination of sweetness and peppery spiciness. Basilikum leaves are bright green, delicate, and oval-shaped with a slightly glossy surface. It is a rich source of vitamins A, C, and K, as well as essential minerals such as iron, calcium, and magnesium. This herb is commonly used in Italian dishes, such as pasta and pizza, as well as in Thai, Vietnamese, and Indian cuisine. In addition to its culinary uses, basilikum also has a variety of medicinal properties and has been traditionally used for its anti-inflammatory and antibacterial properties.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like basilikum'?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy