what is vegan

Is beta-d-galactosidase vegan?

Beta-d-galactosidase is potentially vegan - it can be derived from plants or animals. You should ask the manufacturer for more details.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is beta-d-galactosidase?

Beta-D-galactosidase is an enzyme that plays an essential role in the breakdown of lactose, a sugar found in dairy products. This enzyme works by breaking down lactose into its constituent parts, glucose, and galactose. Beta-D-galactosidase is commonly used in the food industry to manufacture lactose-free products such as milk, ice cream, and cheese. It is also used in the production of certain fermented foods and beverages, such as beer and wine. This enzyme is produced naturally by some microorganisms, and it can also be extracted from various sources, including fungi and bacteria.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like beta-d-galactosidase?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy