what is vegan

Is betacaroteno vegan?

Betacaroteno is potentially vegan - it can be derived from plants or animals. You should ask the manufacturer for more details.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is betacaroteno?

Beta-carotene is a natural pigment found in plants, and is responsible for the bright orange and yellow hues in fruits and vegetables. It is a powerful antioxidant and is converted by the body into vitamin A, which is essential for maintaining healthy skin, vision, and immune function. Beta-carotene is commonly found in carrots, sweet potatoes, spinach, and other leafy greens. It has been linked to a reduced risk of chronic diseases such as cancer and cardiovascular disease. Supplementation with beta-carotene has been shown to improve skin health and protect against sun damage.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like betacaroteno?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy