what is vegan

Is blue2 vegan?

Blue2 is a synthetic food coloring agent that is commonly used to add a bright blue hue to a wide range of food products. It is made from a chemical compound known as indigo carmine, which is derived from coal tar. Blue2 is a water-soluble dye that is easy to mix into foods and beverages, and it is often used in candies, baked goods, and soft drinks. While blue2 is generally recognized as safe by the FDA, some studies have suggested that it may have negative effects on behavior and cognitive function in children, so its use in food products is somewhat controversial.

Blue2 is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? ūüĎá

Scan ingredients and find vegan products
You snap a pic, and we search for animal ingredients. Simple.
Check if a product is vegan in 7 seconds and avoid vegan traps.
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like blue2?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.

Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at hello@whatsvegan.app ūüôĆ

The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy