what is vegan

Is brou de bou vegan?

Brou de bou is a non-vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is brou de bou?

"Brou de bou" is a traditional ingredient in French cuisine, known for its rich and savory flavor profile. It is made by slow-cooking beef bones, vegetables, and herbs until they are reduced to a thick, gelatinous broth. This broth is then strained and used as a base for soups, stews, and sauces. With its deep umami flavor, brou de bou adds complexity and depth to any dish it is used in. A versatile ingredient, it pairs well with a wide range of other flavors, making it a staple in many professional kitchens around the world.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like brou de bou?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy