what is vegan

Is carbonate d ammonium vegan?

Carbonate d ammonium is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is carbonate d ammonium?

Ammonium carbonate is a type of inorganic compound that consists of ammonium ions and carbonate ions. It is a white crystalline powder with a pungent smell and a slightly bitter taste. This ingredient is often used as a leavening agent in baking due to its ability to release carbon dioxide gas when heated, causing dough to rise. It is also used in the production of some medications and in the manufacturing of ceramics and other industrial products. While generally recognized as safe for consumption, ammonium carbonate should be used in moderation and with caution due to its potentially harmful effects when ingested in large amounts.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like carbonate d ammonium?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy