what is vegan

Is carmel vegan?

Carmel is potentially vegan - it can be derived from plants or animals. You should ask the manufacturer for more details.

Checking out an ingredients list? πŸ‘‡

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

β€” Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

β€” Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

β€” DΓ³ra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is carmel?

Caramel is a rich, sweet and decadent ingredient that is created by heating sugar until it melts and turns a golden brown color. It has a complex flavor profile that combines the sweetness of sugar with subtle hints of toffee, vanilla, and buttery notes. Caramel is a versatile ingredient that is used in a variety of desserts, such as caramel sauce, caramel apples, and caramel candies. It can also be used in savory dishes to add depth of flavor, such as caramelized onions or a caramel glaze for meats. Caramel is a beloved ingredient that is often associated with warmth, comfort, and indulgence.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like carmel?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] πŸ™Œ
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy