what is vegan

Is caroteno vegan?

Caroteno is potentially vegan - it can be derived from plants or animals. You should ask the manufacturer for more details.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is caroteno?

Caroteno is a natural food ingredient that belongs to the carotenoid family, which is responsible for providing bright colors to fruits and vegetables. It is a pigment that gives an orange-yellow hue to food products and is commonly used as a natural food coloring agent. Caroteno is found in high amounts in carrots, sweet potatoes, and mangoes. Besides its visual appeal, caroteno is also known for its antioxidant properties that help protect cells from damage caused by free radicals. This nutrient-dense ingredient is a popular choice among health-conscious consumers looking to incorporate natural ingredients into their diets.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like caroteno?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy