what is vegan

Is common mallow vegan?

Common mallow is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is common mallow?

Common mallow, also known as Malva sylvestris, is an edible and medicinal plant that belongs to the Malvaceae family. This herbaceous plant is native to Europe and Asia but has been naturalized in North America. The leaves, flowers, and roots of the common mallow are all edible and have been used in traditional medicine to soothe inflammation and irritation in the digestive and respiratory systems. The leaves and flowers have a slightly sweet taste and can be eaten raw or cooked, while the root can be boiled or roasted to make a coffee substitute. Common mallow is also a popular ornamental plant due to its attractive pink or purple flowers and its ability to grow in a wide range of conditions.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like common mallow?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy