what is vegan

Is dicapryloyl cystine vegan?

Dicapryloyl cystine is a non-vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is dicapryloyl cystine?

Dicapryloyl cystine is a unique food ingredient that is derived from the amino acid cystine. It is commonly used as an emulsifying agent in food products, helping to blend together ingredients that would normally separate. Additionally, dicapryloyl cystine is often used as a stabilizer in food products, helping to maintain their texture and consistency over time. This ingredient is a safe and effective alternative to traditional emulsifiers and stabilizers, and is commonly found in a variety of processed foods such as dressings, sauces, and baked goods. Its ability to improve texture and stability make it a popular choice for food manufacturers.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like dicapryloyl cystine?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy