what is vegan

Is e910 vegan?

E910 is potentially vegan - it can be derived from plants or animals. You should ask the manufacturer for more details.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is e910?

E910 is the code for wax esters, a food additive primarily used as a glazing agent and surface coating. It helps create a protective, shiny finish on foods and prevents moisture loss. It is most commonly found in confectionery, chewing gum, baked goods, and on the skins of certain treated fresh fruits.

The ingredient is produced by combining fatty acids with long-chain fatty alcohols. These raw materials can be derived from plant sources, such as jojoba oil and other vegetable oils, or from animal sources, such as rendered animal tallow or marine oils. They can also be synthesized chemically using precursors that may originate from either plant or animal fats.

Because wax esters can come from either plant or animal origins, E910 is classified as possibly vegan. Food ingredient labels generally do not disclose the source of the fats used to manufacture this additive. A third-party vegan certification on the packaging or direct confirmation from the food manufacturer is necessary to determine whether the E910 used in a specific product is vegan.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like e910?

We've built a vegan ingredients scanner that classifies food ingredients as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "potentially vegan".
It allows you to avoid non-vegan ingredients - just take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy