what is vegan

Is extrato-de-levedura vegan?

Extrato-de-levedura is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is extrato-de-levedura?

Extrato de levedura, also known as yeast extract, is a natural food ingredient that is derived from yeast. It is a concentrated source of vitamins, minerals, and amino acids, and is commonly used as a flavor enhancer in a variety of food products, including soups, sauces, snacks, and processed meats. Unlike active yeast, which is used for baking, yeast extract has been deactivated and processed to create a flavorful and versatile ingredient. It adds a savory, umami taste to foods, and can be used as a vegan alternative to meat-based flavorings. Yeast extract is also valued for its potential health benefits, as it may support immune function, digestion, and overall well-being.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like extrato-de-levedura?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy