what is vegan

Is fermento vegan?

Fermento is potentially vegan - it can be derived from plants or animals. You should ask the manufacturer for more details.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is fermento?

Fermento is a unique and versatile ingredient that is widely used in Italian cuisine. It is a type of leavening agent that is commonly used in baking to create light and fluffy bread and pizza dough. Made from a blend of natural yeast, enzymes, and malted barley flour, fermento is prized for its ability to improve the texture, flavor, and nutritional profile of baked goods. This all-natural ingredient is also a great source of protein and fiber, making it a popular choice for health-conscious consumers. With its tangy and slightly sour taste, fermento adds depth and complexity to a wide range of dishes, from bread to pasta to soups and stews.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like fermento?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy