what is vegan

Is fromage frais à 0 % de matière grasse vegan?

Fromage frais à 0 % de matière grasse is a non-vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is fromage frais à 0 % de matière grasse?

"Fromage frais à 0 % de matière grasse" is a French label term that translates to fat-free fresh cheese. It is a soft, unripened dairy product made by curdling pasteurized skimmed cow milk with lactic acid bacteria cultures and occasionally rennet. After the curds form, the liquid whey is drained off until a smooth, spreadable cheese with zero percent milk fat remains.

This ingredient is commonly found on European food labels, particularly in chilled dairy desserts, flavored yogurts, mousses, dips, and low-fat baked goods. Manufacturers also use it in ready-made sauces and savory prepared dishes to provide a creamy texture and dairy flavor without introducing milk fats.

fromage frais à 0 % de matière grasse is not vegan because it is produced from animal milk. Because it is an animal-derived dairy food, any consumer product containing this ingredient cannot be classified as vegan.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like fromage frais à 0 % de matière grasse?

We've built a vegan ingredients scanner that classifies food ingredients as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "potentially vegan".
It allows you to avoid non-vegan ingredients - just take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy