what is vegan

Is gerst vegan?

Gerst is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is gerst?

Gerst, also known as "pearl barley", is a versatile and nutrient-rich grain that has been a staple in European and Middle Eastern cuisine for centuries. This ancient grain is made by removing the hull and polishing the barley kernel, resulting in a smooth and shiny texture. Gerst is packed with fiber, protein, vitamins, and minerals, making it a popular ingredient in soups, stews, salads, and porridges. Its nutty flavor and chewy texture add depth and complexity to any dish. Gerst is also an excellent source of resistant starch, which can promote gut health and improve blood sugar control. With its unique flavor profile and health benefits, gerst is a must-try ingredient for any food enthusiast.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like gerst?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy