what is vegan

Is glicyna vegan?

Glicyna is potentially vegan - it can be derived from plants or animals. You should ask the manufacturer for more details.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is glicyna?

Glycine, also known as glicyna, is a non-essential amino acid that plays a crucial role in building protein, collagen, and other important molecules in the body. It is the simplest amino acid, containing only a hydrogen atom as its side chain. Glycine can be found in high protein foods such as meat, fish, and dairy products, but it can also be produced by the body in small amounts. This versatile amino acid is involved in many physiological processes, including neurotransmitter function, blood sugar regulation, and antioxidant production. Glycine supplementation has been shown to have potential benefits for sleep quality, cognitive function, and muscle growth.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like glicyna?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy