what is vegan

Is glycerol ester of wood rosin vegan?

Glycerol ester of wood rosin is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is glycerol ester of wood rosin?

Glycerol ester of wood rosin is a food ingredient commonly used as an emulsifier and stabilizer in various beverages and food products. It is a yellow to amber-colored liquid derived from pine trees, particularly from the stumps and slash of the trees. The wood rosin is extracted and then esterified with glycerol to form a water-soluble substance. Glycerol ester of wood rosin has a mild pine-like flavor and is considered safe for consumption by regulatory agencies. It is often added to citrus-flavored drinks to keep the oils from separating and settling at the bottom of the container.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like glycerol ester of wood rosin?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy