what is vegan

Is glyserol vegan?

Glyserol is potentially vegan - it can be derived from plants or animals. You should ask the manufacturer for more details.

Checking out an ingredients list? ūüĎá

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

‚ÄĒ Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. ūüėĀ"

‚ÄĒ Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

‚ÄĒ D√≥ra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is glyserol?

Glycerol, also known as glycerin or glycerine, is a colorless, odorless, and slightly sweet-tasting liquid that belongs to the family of polyols. It is derived from animal or vegetable fats and oils through a process called hydrolysis. Glycerol has a wide range of applications in the food industry, including its use as a humectant, sweetener, and thickener. It can also be used as a solvent for food flavorings and as a preservative. Glycerol is an essential ingredient in the production of cosmetics, pharmaceuticals, and toiletries due to its moisturizing properties. Additionally, it is a popular ingredient in e-liquids used in electronic cigarettes.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like glyserol?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] ūüôĆ
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy