what is vegan

Is graisse de poule vegan?

Graisse de poule is a non-vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is graisse de poule?

Graisse de poule, also known as chicken fat, is a flavorful and versatile ingredient used in many cuisines worldwide. It is extracted from the fatty tissue of chickens and provides a rich, buttery texture to dishes. Graisse de poule is commonly used in Jewish cuisine for making schmaltz, a type of clarified chicken fat that is a staple ingredient in traditional recipes like matzo ball soup and chopped liver. It can also be used to add depth to roasted vegetables, elevate the flavor of mashed potatoes, or be used as a substitute for butter in baking recipes. Due to its high smoke point, graisse de poule is an excellent choice for frying and sautéing.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like graisse de poule?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy