"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"
— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback
"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"
— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member
"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."
— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member
So, what is guargumi?
Guar gum, also known as guargumi, is a natural food thickener and stabilizer derived from the endosperm of guar beans. It is widely used in the food industry to improve texture, viscosity, and shelf life of various products like ice cream, sauces, and baked goods. In addition, guar gum is a popular ingredient in gluten-free recipes as it mimics the binding properties of gluten. Furthermore, this plant-based additive has several health benefits, including reducing blood sugar levels and improving digestive health. Despite being generally safe, excessive consumption of guar gum may cause gastrointestinal discomfort.
We've built a vegan ingredients scanner that classifies food ingredients as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "potentially vegan".
It allows you to avoid non-vegan ingredients - just take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.
Check out other ingredients: