what is vegan

Is magnesiumstearat vegan?

Magnesiumstearat is potentially vegan - it can be derived from plants or animals. You should ask the manufacturer for more details.

Checking out an ingredients list? ūüĎá

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

‚ÄĒ Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. ūüėĀ"

‚ÄĒ Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

‚ÄĒ D√≥ra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is magnesiumstearat?

Magnesium stearate is a white, odorless, and powdery substance that is commonly used in the food industry as an anti-caking agent, lubricant, and emulsifier. It is derived from stearic acid, a natural fatty acid found in many animal and vegetable fats. Magnesium stearate is known for its ability to improve the flowability of powders, preventing them from clumping together or sticking to machinery during processing. It is also used in dietary supplements and pharmaceuticals as a safe and effective excipient, helping to ensure the uniformity and stability of the product. Magnesium stearate is generally recognized as safe (GRAS) by the U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA) and is widely used in the food and pharmaceutical industries.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like magnesiumstearat?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] ūüôĆ
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy