what is vegan

Is maisdextrose vegan?

Maisdextrose is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is maisdextrose?

Maize dextrose, also known as corn dextrose or simply dextrose, is a natural sweetener derived from corn starch. It is a simple sugar with a molecular formula of C6H12O6, and has a clean, sweet taste. Maize dextrose is commonly used as a sweetener and a source of energy in a wide range of food and beverage products, including baked goods, cereals, energy drinks, and sports drinks. It is also used as a fermentation substrate in the production of beer, wine, and other fermented beverages. Maize dextrose is gluten-free, vegan, and a healthier alternative to refined sugar, as it has a lower glycemic index and provides quick energy without causing a spike in blood sugar levels.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like maisdextrose?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy