what is vegan

Is maltodekstrin vegan?

Maltodekstrin is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is maltodekstrin?

Maltodextrin is a carbohydrate derived from starch that is commonly used as a food additive to enhance texture, flavor, and shelf life. It is a white powder that is easily digestible and has a mildly sweet taste. Maltodextrin is frequently used in processed foods, such as baked goods, beverages, and snacks, as a thickening agent and to improve mouthfeel. Additionally, it is commonly used in sports nutrition products as a source of easily digestible carbohydrates to help fuel workouts and enhance performance. Maltodextrin is a versatile ingredient that is widely used in the food industry due to its low cost, ease of use, and ability to improve the quality of food products.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like maltodekstrin?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy