what is vegan

Is malzextrakt vegan?

Malzextrakt is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is malzextrakt?

Malzextrakt, also known as malt extract, is a sweet, dark brown syrup made from sprouted barley grains. This natural ingredient is a source of complex carbohydrates, vitamins, minerals, and antioxidants. It has a distinct caramel-like flavor and is commonly used in baking, brewing, and the production of health foods and supplements. Malzextrakt is often added to breads, cakes, and cookies to enhance flavor and texture, and it is also used as a natural sweetener in energy bars, protein shakes, and other sports nutrition products. This versatile ingredient is prized for its unique taste and nutritional benefits and is a staple in many kitchens and pantries around the world.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like malzextrakt?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy