what is vegan

Is modifierad potatisstärkelse vegan?

Modifierad potatisstärkelse is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is modifierad potatisstärkelse?

Modifierad potatisstärkelse is a Swedish term that translates to "modified potato starch" in English. It is a food ingredient commonly used as a thickener, stabilizer, and binder in a wide range of food products, including sauces, soups, dressings, baked goods, and meat products. Modified potato starch is derived from potato starch through a series of physical and chemical processes that alter its properties, such as viscosity, gelatinization, and freeze-thaw stability. This versatile ingredient has excellent water-holding capacity, enhances texture and mouthfeel, and is gluten-free, making it suitable for use in various dietary restrictions.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like modifierad potatisstärkelse?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy