what is vegan

Is natriumbenzoaat vegan?

Natriumbenzoaat is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is natriumbenzoaat?

Natriumbenzoaat, also known as sodium benzoate, is a white crystalline powder that is widely used as a food preservative. It is derived from benzoic acid, which is a natural compound found in many fruits and vegetables. Natriumbenzoaat is commonly added to acidic foods such as soft drinks, fruit juices, and pickles to prevent the growth of bacteria, yeasts, and molds. It is also used in the production of medicines, cosmetics, and various other industrial products. Natriumbenzoaat has been deemed safe for consumption by various regulatory agencies around the world, but some studies suggest that it may have adverse effects on human health in large amounts.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like natriumbenzoaat?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy