what is vegan

Is نشا vegan?

نشا is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is نشا?

نشا (Nasha) is a fine white powder extracted from various starchy roots, such as potatoes, tapioca, corn, and wheat. It is commonly used as a thickening agent in food products, such as soups, sauces, and gravies. Due to its neutral taste and odor, نشا is an ideal ingredient for creating smooth and consistent textures without affecting the flavor profile of the final product. It is also a versatile ingredient that can be used to make puddings, custards, and other desserts. In addition to its culinary applications, نشا is also used in the manufacturing of paper, textiles, and pharmaceuticals.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like نشا?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy