what is vegan

Is ostlöpe vegan?

Ostlöpe is potentially vegan - it can be derived from plants or animals. You should ask the manufacturer for more details.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is ostlöpe?

Ostlöpe is a traditional Swedish food ingredient that has been used for centuries to make cheese. It is a type of rennet, which is an enzyme that is extracted from the stomachs of young calves. The Ostlöpe enzyme helps to coagulate the milk and turn it into curds, which are then pressed to create cheese. The name "Ostlöpe" comes from the Swedish words "ost" meaning cheese, and "löpe" meaning rennet. This ingredient is valued for its ability to produce high-quality cheese with a distinct, savory flavor profile. Today, Ostlöpe is still used by artisanal cheese makers in Sweden and has gained popularity among food enthusiasts looking for authentic, traditional ingredients.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like ostlöpe?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy