what is vegan

Is palmekerne vegan?

Palmekerne is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is palmekerne?

Palm kernels, also known as "palmekerne" in Danish, are the edible seeds found within the fruit of the oil palm tree. These small, ivory-colored seeds have a hard outer shell and a rich, buttery flavor that makes them a popular ingredient in many dishes. They are often used to make palm kernel oil, which is a versatile oil that can be used for cooking, baking, and as a beauty product. Palm kernels are also high in nutrients, containing protein, fiber, and essential minerals such as potassium, magnesium, and iron. Despite their many uses and health benefits, it's important to note that the production of palm kernel oil has been linked to deforestation and other environmental concerns.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like palmekerne?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy