what is vegan

Is pepino vegan?

Pepino is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is pepino?

Pepino, also known as "Melon pear," is a refreshing fruit that is native to South America. Its elongated shape and smooth, thin skin resemble a cucumber, but its sweet, juicy flesh tastes like a cross between a cucumber and a cantaloupe. The pepino's soft, pale yellow-green flesh is speckled with small seeds, which can be eaten or spit out. This versatile fruit can be eaten raw or cooked, and is often used in salads, salsas, and desserts. With its crisp texture, subtle sweetness, and unique flavor, pepino is a delicious addition to any dish.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like pepino?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy