what is vegan

Is placenta vegan?

Placenta is a non-vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? πŸ‘‡

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

β€” Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

β€” Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

β€” DΓ³ra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is placenta?

Placenta is a nutrient-rich organ that develops during pregnancy in mammals, including humans. It serves as a lifeline between the mother and the developing fetus, providing essential nutrients and oxygen. Although the consumption of placenta has been a traditional practice in some cultures, it is still considered a controversial food ingredient in many parts of the world. Proponents of placenta consumption claim that it can improve postpartum health, increase milk production, and reduce the risk of postpartum depression. However, there is limited scientific evidence to support these claims, and health experts warn that consuming placenta can also pose health risks, such as bacterial infection and exposure to toxins.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like placenta?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] πŸ™Œ
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy