what is vegan

Is plant-based shrimp vegan?

Plant-based shrimp is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is plant-based shrimp?

Plant-based shrimp is a seafood alternative made from plant-based ingredients, designed to mimic the taste and texture of traditional shrimp. This vegan and vegetarian-friendly ingredient provides an ethical and sustainable option for those who are looking to reduce their consumption of animal products. Plant-based shrimp can be used in any recipe that calls for traditional shrimp, including stir-fries, salads, and appetizers. With its high protein content and low-calorie count, plant-based shrimp is a healthy and delicious addition to any diet. It's also free from common allergens such as shellfish, making it a safe choice for those with food sensitivities.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like plant-based shrimp?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy