what is vegan

Is plantago ovata vegan?

Plantago ovata is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is plantago ovata?

Plantago ovata is a unique food ingredient that is commonly known as psyllium husk. It is derived from the seeds of the Plantago ovata plant, which is native to India and Pakistan. Psyllium husk is highly soluble in water and is often used as a dietary fiber supplement to promote digestive health. It has a mild, nutty flavor and can be added to smoothies, baked goods, and other recipes to increase their fiber content. Psyllium husk has also been shown to help lower cholesterol levels and improve blood sugar control.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like plantago ovata?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy