what is vegan

Is platano vegan?

Plantains, or "pl√°tanos" in Spanish, are a type of banana that is more starchy and less sweet than the typical banana fruit. They are commonly used as a staple food in Latin American and Caribbean cuisines, and can be cooked in a variety of ways. When green, plantains are firm and best suited for savory dishes such as tostones (fried and flattened plantain slices) or mofongo (mashed plantain with garlic and pork cracklings). When ripe, they become sweeter and can be used in desserts or eaten as a snack when cooked as maduros (sweet fried plantains). Plantains are a versatile and nutritious ingredient that adds depth and flavor to any dish.

Platano is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? ūüĎá

Scan ingredients and find vegan products
You snap a pic, and we search for animal ingredients. Simple.
Check if a product is vegan in 7 seconds and avoid vegan traps.
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like platano?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.

Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at hello@whatsvegan.app ūüôĆ

The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy