what is vegan

Is porrer vegan?

Porrer is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? ­čĹç

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

ÔÇö Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. ­čśü"

ÔÇö Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

ÔÇö D├│ra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is porrer?

Porror is a versatile food ingredient that belongs to the allium family, like onions and garlic. Also known as leek, it has a mild, sweet flavor with a subtle hint of onion. Porrer's signature elongated shape and dark green leaves make it an attractive addition to dishes, both as a garnish and a flavor enhancer. Its use dates back to ancient times, where it was prized for its medicinal properties. Today, porrer is a staple in French cuisine, commonly used in soups, stews, quiches, and various savory dishes. Its delicate flavor pairs well with eggs, potatoes, cream-based sauces, and seafood.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like porrer?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] ­čÖî
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy