what is vegan

Is rice starch vegan?

Rice starch is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? πŸ‘‡

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

β€” Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

β€” Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

β€” DΓ³ra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is rice starch?

Rice starch is a fine, white powder that is extracted from rice grains. It is a versatile ingredient used in various food products, such as noodles, cakes, and sauces. Rice starch is a gluten-free and hypoallergenic alternative to wheat flour, making it suitable for individuals with gluten sensitivities or allergies. It has excellent thickening properties, and when heated, it forms a translucent gel, making it ideal for creating clear sauces and fillings. Rice starch is also resistant to high temperatures, which makes it perfect for use in frozen foods. With its neutral taste and smooth texture, rice starch is a popular choice for enhancing the texture and mouthfeel of various food products.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like rice starch?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] πŸ™Œ
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy