what is vegan

Is seitan$ vegan?

Seitan$ is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is seitan$?

Seitan, also known as wheat meat or wheat protein, is a popular plant-based protein source that has been used for centuries in East Asian cuisine. Made from wheat gluten, seitan has a chewy texture and a mild flavor that can be easily seasoned and flavored to suit any dish. It is a versatile ingredient that can be grilled, roasted, or sautéed and can be used as a meat substitute in various dishes. Seitan is an excellent source of protein, low in fat, and contains no cholesterol, making it a healthy option for those looking to reduce their meat consumption.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like seitan$?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy