what is vegan

Is sherry vegan?

Sherry is potentially vegan - it can be derived from plants or animals. You should ask the manufacturer for more details.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is sherry?

Sherry is a fortified wine hailing from the Andalusia region of southern Spain. This complex and nuanced ingredient is created by blending wines from different vintages and aging them through a solera system, which involves stacking barrels of different ages on top of each other. Sherry boasts a unique flavor profile, ranging from bone-dry to sweet, and can be nutty, salty, or floral. It is a popular ingredient in Spanish cuisine and pairs well with savory dishes like stews, soups, and tapas. In addition to cooking, sherry is also enjoyed as an aperitif or digestif and has a long history as a staple of British culture.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like sherry?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy