what is vegan

Is stéarate dé sodium vegan?

Stéarate dé sodium is potentially vegan - it can be derived from plants or animals. You should ask the manufacturer for more details.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is stéarate dé sodium?

Sodium stearate is a white, odorless, and tasteless powder that is commonly used as a food ingredient and as an emulsifying agent in the production of various food products. It is a salt that is formed when stearic acid, a fatty acid found in many animal and vegetable fats, reacts with sodium hydroxide. Sodium stearate is a safe and widely accepted food additive that helps to stabilize and thicken food products, such as soups, sauces, and salad dressings. It also acts as a lubricant, preventing ingredients from clumping together and improving their flowability. Sodium stearate is commonly used in food processing due to its low cost, ease of use, and compatibility with a wide range of other ingredients.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like stéarate dé sodium?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy