what is vegan

Is tangerine peel vegan?

Tangerine peel is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is tangerine peel?

Tangerine peel is a fragrant ingredient derived from the outer layer of tangerine fruit. It is commonly used in Chinese and Southeast Asian cuisine to add a citrusy and slightly bitter flavor to dishes. Tangerine peel is known for its medicinal properties, as it contains high amounts of antioxidants and vitamins. It is often used in traditional Chinese medicine to aid digestion, treat coughs, and alleviate nausea. When cooking with tangerine peel, it is important to use only the outer layer or zest, as the white pith can impart a bitter taste. Tangerine peel can be found in specialty food stores or can be easily made at home by drying and grinding tangerine zest.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like tangerine peel?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy