what is vegan

Is tempura batter vegan?

Tempura batter is potentially vegan - it can be derived from plants or animals. You should ask the manufacturer for more details.

Checking out an ingredients list? πŸ‘‡

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

β€” Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

β€” Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

β€” DΓ³ra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is tempura batter?

Tempura batter is a light, crispy and airy coating used to prepare delicious deep-fried dishes. It is traditionally made by mixing wheat flour, corn starch, baking powder, and cold water, which is then whisked until the batter is smooth and free of lumps. The key to creating the perfect tempura batter is to keep it cold, as the cold temperature prevents the batter from becoming too dense and heavy when fried. Tempura batter is often used to coat seafood, vegetables, and even fruit before deep-frying, resulting in a flavorful and crispy coating that complements the ingredients' natural flavors.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like tempura batter?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] πŸ™Œ
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy