what is vegan

Is tilapia vegan?

Tilapia is a non-vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? πŸ‘‡

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

β€” Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

β€” Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

β€” DΓ³ra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is tilapia?

Tilapia is a freshwater fish that's commonly used in cooking due to its mild flavor and versatility. It has a white, flaky flesh with a firm texture that makes it perfect for grilling, baking, or frying. Tilapia is a low-fat, high-protein source of omega-3 fatty acids, vitamin B12, and selenium. It's also an eco-friendly option, as most tilapia sold in the United States is farmed in closed systems that minimize pollution and disease. When cooked correctly, tilapia can be a healthy and delicious addition to any meal.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like tilapia?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] πŸ™Œ
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy