what is vegan

Is vegetable starch vegan?

Vegetable starch is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is vegetable starch?

Vegetable starch is a plant-derived carbohydrate that is commonly used as a thickening agent in various food products. It is extracted from the roots, stems, and seeds of different vegetables such as potatoes, corn, and tapioca. This natural ingredient is highly versatile, gluten-free, and has a neutral taste. Vegetable starch is an excellent choice for those who are looking for a healthier alternative to traditional wheat-based thickeners. It can enhance the texture, viscosity, and shelf life of a wide range of products including soups, sauces, desserts, and baked goods. Additionally, vegetable starch is also used in non-food applications such as papermaking and pharmaceuticals.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like vegetable starch?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy